Black Power Is For Black Men, an Uppity Negro Editorial Response

The Uppity Negro

Women, Free Huey Rally, Oakland (1968) PHOTO BYPirkle Jones_jpg

There is no secret that I’m black, and that I am a man.

Okay, now that my bias is revealed perhaps I can discuss some of the challenges I had with the nature of the hashtag on Twitter that erupted earlier this week.

While I was participating in my weekly diet of ratchet television in the form of watching “Love and Hip Hop Atlanta” and “Catfish” I saw this tweet and retweet of this hashtag #BlackPowerIsForBlackMen that was attempting to bring to light the veracity of black male privilege.  Before I go any further, I do want to acknowledge that I do believe black male privilege exists, but it exists only because of our maleness and not because of our blackness.  With that thought in mind, I grew hesitant as to whether or not I wanted to wade in those social networking waters because by in large, the tweets that…

View original post 2,985 more words

Leave a Reply

